Monday, July 31, 2017

Culture File: The Future of Craft

Richard Ocejo on where "whole animal butchery" fits into the revival of "craft" jobs

Friday, July 28, 2017

Culture File: The Limitless World of Aoife Dunne

Post-internet artist, Aoife Dunne, brings her digital army of electric blue fright-wigged dancers home to Blanchardstown

Thursday, July 27, 2017

Culture File: Vanilla Reaches The Indian Ocean

How a 12-year old slave labourer invented a quick, and dependable method to pollinate vanilla plants by hand

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Culture File: The Legend of Farinet

Legendary counterfeiter, Joseph-Samuel Farinet, was known to his fans as "The Robin Hood of the Alps"

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Culture File: Tag Beckett's Soul/Sole

Killiney artist, Tag Beckett, brings his latest set of painted inquisitions to The Blue Room, Dublin

Monday, July 24, 2017

Culture File: Prohibition and the Death of Craft

Masters of Craft author, Richard Ocejo, on the role of Prohibition in the US of shaping the world of 2017

Friday, July 21, 2017

Culture File: Academic Flying: The Plane Truth

Despite the environmental toll each year 1000s of academics fly 1000s of miles to conferences. Time for a rethink?

Thursday, July 20, 2017

Culture File: The Elbphilharmonie of the Heart

Maxime Le Calvet has been hanging out at legendary Hamburg club, The Golden Pudel, studying the venue's atmosphere

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Culture File: The Ethnomusicologist and the Machine Gun (Part 2)

Prof Samuel Araujo is using the special powers of ethnomusicology on the favelas of Rio

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Culture File: The Ethnomusicologist and the Machine Gun

In Culture File's first visit to the ICTM's 70th anniversary meeting, a samba rehearsal is interrupted by gunfire

Monday, July 17, 2017

Culture File: Storming Bastille Day

Aux Armes, citoyens! On Bastille Day, poet and fan of l'Hexagone, Michael O'Loghlin, gives his vision of what makes France...France.

Friday, July 14, 2017

Culture File: Polocrosse in the Blood

Mayoman, Tony O’Donnell, on discovering he suffers from the epigenetic condition known as “horses in the blood”

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Culture File: The Rise of Omnivorous Taste

Richard Ocejo on how bartenders, butchers and brewers create the tastes of the contemporary urban life (Masters of Craft Part 2)

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Culture File: Masters of Craft

Why has "craft" become the adjective of choice whenever somebody is trying to sell us something? (Part 1)

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Culture File: WTF's Absolute Beginners

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot theatre company's latest show explores attitudes and anxieties of Generation Xanax

Friday, July 7, 2017

Culture File: Live at O’Bheal

Poet, Maria McManus, on her collaborative experiments to find fresh ways of putting words into public spaces

Culture File: Dael Orlandersmith's Long Strange Trip (Part 2)

Orlandersmith's Until The Flood was written in response to the 2014 shooting of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Mo.

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Culture File: Dael Orlandersmith's Long Strange Trip.

"Forever" tells the story one woman's journey from 1970s Harlem, to Paris' most artistic cemetery

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Culture File: The Many Media of composer, Jonathan Nangle

Soldering, shopping, knitting, 3D printing and other arts of composer, Jonathan Nangle's work.

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Culture File: Origami Excellence

It'll teach you maths and clear you mind. Oh, and Portlaoise might soon be a world centre for it... Origami.

Monday, July 3, 2017

Culture File: Camille Norment

Camille is an Oslo based artist and musician who is currently representing Norway at the Venice Biennale.

Sunday, July 2, 2017

Culture File: Ron Kilmartin's Comedy Memorial Service

Fearless comic @anylaurie16 on her darkly funny standup about death and dying, 45 Jokes About My Dead Dad

Friday, June 30, 2017

Culture File: The Chewing Gum Man's Illuminated World

The Chewing Gum Man is a street artist who paints on the countless dropped gobs of gum on London's pavements

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Culture File: Paul G Smyth's Moving Piano

Paul G Smyth, prepares for the latest in his 20-year long series of free improvised solo piano performances.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Culture File: The Play That Goes Right To Broadway

Super-farce, The Play That goes wrong began life above London pub and now boast JJ Abrams as a co-producer.

Monday, June 26, 2017

Culture File: A List of Good and Bad Lists

The list was an essential tool both for the Nazis and, later, Michel Foucault, explains listademic Liam Cole Young.

Friday, June 23, 2017

Culture File: List Cultures

The political and poetic things that happen when we present a number of connected items consecutively

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Culture File: Pátio da Cerveja, Lisboa

A super-strong beer known as "wheat wine" (one of the world's oldest beer types) is enjoying a revival in Portugal

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Culture File: Helene Bøksle Sets Sail

Norwegian pop singer, Helene Bøksle, is exploring the place where traditional Irish and Norwegian musics meet

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Culture File: Smarter Than The City

What sort of human does the city want? Prof Gillian Rose on learning from the advertising surrounding Smart Cities

Monday, June 19, 2017

Culture File: Waking The Plough

Have the opportunities of Irish women in theatre improved since the days of Ria Mooney's Rosie Redmond?

Friday, June 16, 2017

Culture File: Ciara O’Dowd's Women of the Early Abbey Theatre (EXCERPT)

An excerpt from today's Culture File - Hear the rest on Culture File, RTE lyric fm, 6.05pm, Friday, June 16th. A cache of letters from the actress Aideen O’Connor fuelled Ciara O’Dowd's deep dive into the lives of Irish actresses who travelled to the US with the Abbey Company in the 1920s and 1930s. But what shocked the writer, researcher and Waking The Feminist activist, was how little has changed for women in Irish theatre...

Culture File: 1st Annual Culture File World Tapas Day Tapas-Off: Spain v Ireland

His excellency, Jose Maria Rodriguez-Coso and chef, Kevin Thornton, "compete" in a World Tapas Day tapas-off

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Culture File: "White African Power"

Tanzania Albinism Collective of Ukerewe island and producer, Ian Brennan, have created a unique musical collab.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Culture File: Not World Music

Grammy Award-winning producer, Ian Brennan's work in conflict resolution lead him to discover and record the musics of the despised and excluded photo: Marilena Delli

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Culture File: Collecting Squelches at Moog Sound Lab

Chicks on Speed's Melissa Logan, goes hunting for crunchy synth goodness at the Moog Sound Lab

Monday, June 12, 2017

Culture File: Moon and Flowers in Wicklow Garden

Harold Clarke's garden (which now features a concert hall) grew from dream of a Wicklow cottage, with some roses

Friday, June 9, 2017

Culture File: Post-Trad? Is that a thing?

Ensemble Ériu's Neil O'Lochlain, explores the outer limits of Irish music with his new trio, Cuar

Thursday, June 8, 2017

Culture File: The Toil of Susanne R Day

The theatre of Cork suffragist and writer, Susanne R Day, is re-imagined by Painted Bird theatre company

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Culture File: (Gong) Bath Night

At a gong bath, we dim the lights and discover if the sound of shimmering metal can sooth a troubled world

Culture File: Live from Studio 1

Luke Clancy presents Culture File live from Studio 1 as part of the Summer Sounds Concert with Classic Drive and the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra. Featuring Arantxa Lopez.

Friday, June 2, 2017

Culture File: Ambulance Speed to Sherkin Island

Dublin electronic music duo, Ambulance, reunite for this year's Open Ear Festival on Sherkin Island

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Culture File: @SneakerCon Goes Global

.@SneakerCon's band of sneakerheads & "ShoeTubers" makes its debut outside US w/ @RICHIELE23 @FOGLDN @_iLifestyle_

Culture File: Sakha Threads

Sakha, Saydyy Kuo and Glaswegian, Oscar, met and married following an eye-opening musical experience at WOMAD

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Culture File: Sister Vikings

Norwegian Ambassador to Ireland, Else Berit Eikeland, on vikings, polar exploration and other histories we share

Friday, May 26, 2017

Culture File: Pat Moylan's Business

From running a Dublin theatre to tooling up international productions, Pat Moylan knows the business of shows.

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Culture File: Artangel's New Spaces

Artangel co-founder, James Lingwood, on art, space and his latest venture - into the digital.

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Culture File: Bomi Odufunade's Mission

Bomi Odufunade, of world's first art advisory for African art, works to repatriate looted works of African art

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Culture File: What Am I Working On?

Curators visiting this weekend's ARCOLisboa from Johannesburg, Medellin and Paris look to their future programs

Monday, May 22, 2017

Culture File: The Joy of Pizza

Pizza purists, Giorgio Casari and Lucio Paduano, on the battle to preserve Italian pizza culture